ARCS Forward - Public Health from a Research and Clinical Perspective

ARCS Forward - Public Health from a Research and Clinical Perspective

Tuesday, November 9, 2021, at 6:00 PM ET/5:00 PM CT/4:00 PM MT/3:00 PM PT/12:00 PM HT

ARCS Forward events are personal and intimate conversations between members, current scholars, and other outstanding scientists in all STEM fields. These events are held virtually over Zoom. This month's speakers are ARCS Scholars William Mundo (Colorado) and Elizabeth Sajewski (Atlanta). This event will be moderated by ARCS Member and Immediate Past President of the Northern California chapter, M.J. Whitehouse, MD.

William Mundo is in his final year of his MD/MS in Public Health at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. His research involves the combination of medical sciences and public health sciences to address health inequities in diverse communities. The research ranges from clinical research with patients with sex chromosome abnormalities, identifying risk factors for infectious diseases, community mental health in indigenous communities, high altitude maternal and fetal cardiopulmonary disorders, and health outcomes for undocumented immigrants.

Elizabeth Sajewski is a fifth-year PhD student in the Environment Health Sciences program at Emory University. In her research, Elizabeth uses computational models to study infectious disease transmission, focusing on enteric viruses, and the impact of vaccination and environmental changes on disease dynamics. In recent work, she has also focused on integrating exposure risk modeling and transmission modeling, with applications to SARS-Co-2 transmission among essential workers in food processing facilities.

November 9th, 2021 6:00 PM   through   7:00 PM
Webinar Event
Webinar Key